Confession #4

Confession: Your first draft is always crap. . . There are nuggets of gold/diamond in the pieces, but they really need to be cleaned, and re-polished. . .

My first of novel I wrote a paranormal-drama about a girl who could see and talked to ghosts. I wrote it for NaNoWriMo. . . it was simply to see if I could write 50,000 in one month. I think I ended with 52,000 or 53,000 words when I was done. However that was not the end of the book; I finished writing it the next NaNoWriMo. It ended with 160,000 words. . . I have still yet to completely edit it. I have learned I am an over-writer. My first draft will always have too much.

I look back now and go “D@mn what the *BEEP* did I write?” 

  1. I have noticed that parts of it are therapy, just venting against people I know.
  2. There are parts where it seem to go on and on and have nothing to do with the main story-line.
  3. I had a crushes on one of my side characters and put him in way more than he needed to be. Worst part is his is a frickle, artistic jerk, but I loved his look.
  4. I know I need to vent and wine less and show more suspense.
  5. When I rewrite and edit, I plan to cut a lot and focus more on the story of the ghost and less on a whiny girl.

It was my first draft and I finished NaNoWriMo two years in a row because of it so it is an accomplishment. It is just not finished yet.

My advice is focus on getting the words out. 

There are articles on surviving NaNoWriMo. 

http://www.signature-reads.com/2016/10/surviving-nanowrimo-the-tough-mudder-of-writing-challenges/?cdi=3DD2CA8D59970C03E0534FD66B0A212F&ref=PRH774FF6C894

http://nanowrimo.org/forums/helpful-resources-sites

http://campnanowrimo.org/writing-resources

n-WRITING-A-BOOK-628x314
Writer
Leave a Reply

